Wednesday, November 5, 2008

And the Winners Are . . .

Fayetteville voters expressed their opinions and made some wise choices. The winners should be congratulated, and those with fewer votes should be commended for having the courage and interest to join the public dialog about our shared future.

Washington County government was a big winner. State Representative Marilyn Edwards (58%) will be our new County Judge, the first woman to hold that position. Candy Clark (61%), Barbara Fitzpatrick (unopposed), and John Firmin (unopposed) will bring new energy, ideas, and enthusiasm to our Quorum Court.

In Fayetteville, Brenda Thiel (58%) was reelected to the City Council from Ward One. Matthew Petty (52%) and Sarah Lewis (65%) emerged from a strong field and will be sworn in on January 1st. There will be a mayoral run-off election on November 25th between Mayor Dan Coody (37%) and Vice Mayor Lioneld Jordan (28%).

State Representative Jim House (54%) significantly increased his margin of victory from 2006, winning by more than 1,300 votes this year. He will be returning to represent us at the state capitol, along with Representative Lindsley Smith and Representative-elect Uvalde Lindsey, both of whom were unopposed.

Green Party Congressional Nominee and UA student Abel Tomlinson got 19,575 votes in Washington County. That's 30%, and probably much higher in Fayetteville, against the incumbent Republican John Boozman.

Fayetteville voters also supported the HOPE Scholarship Lottery, which passed. We voted against Initiated Act 1, as did all of Washington County, but it unfortunately passed statewide. Locals voted by 66% to make arrests for weed possession a low priority in our town.

All in all, it was a good day for the people.

No comments:

Post a Comment