Sunday, February 17, 2008

Arkansas Sierra Club Honors Local Heroes

The 2008 Arkansas Conservation Awards were announced last night by the Arkansas Sierra Club, and numerous Northwest Arkansas businesses and individuals were among those recognized for outstanding contributions to environmental conservation and public service in our state.

Benton County Habitat for Humanity and the Fayetteville Sam’s Club received awards for incorporating green design features in construction, and Stitt Energy Systems was nominated for a long history of energy reduction measures. Fayetteville restaurants Smilin’ Jack’s and Greenhouse Grill were also winners in that category. The OMNI Center for Peace, Justice & Ecology was named environmental organization of the year, in part for its contribution to helping establish the World Peace Wetland Prairie in south Fayetteville, and the UA Community Design Center received a certificate of recognition.

Alderman Lioneld Jordan and County Judge Jerry Hunton received awards as outstanding local elected officials, and State Representatives Jim House and Lindsley Smith were recognized for their environmental voting records in the 2007 legislative session. Public employees honored for their service were Juliet Richey of Washington County and John Coleman and Matt Mihalevich of the City of Fayetteville.

Environmental media awards were presented to Aubrey Shepherd as environmental blogger of the year and to Scarlet Sims of The Morning News and Doug Thompson of the Arkansas News Bureau for print media contributions.

Area individuals receiving awards were Jon Johnson for environmental educator, Derek Linn for student Sierran, Ken Smith for senior Sierran, Adrienne Shaunfield for outstanding new Sierran, Joyce Hale for unsung hero, Sarah Lewis for Ozark Headwaters Group Sierra Club activist, and Dot Neeley for Arkansas Sierran of the Year. Marion Orton and Art Evans also received certificates of recognition for longtime contributions.

Congratulations and many thanks to everyone for their service to the public and contribution to our community.

No comments:

Post a Comment