Wednesday, June 20, 2007

School Board Elections Are Important

Today is the first day that petitions are available to be picked up and circulated by anyone wishing to be a school board candidate. To qualify for the ballot, a candidate must be a qualified voter, be a resident of the school district or electoral zone that the board seat represents, and file a petition with the County Clerk’s Office containing at least 20 signatures of qualified registered voters from the district or electoral zone. The filing deadline is August 6.

This is very important. School boards can shape the curriculum, protect intellectual freedom, support good teachers, stop fundamentalist attempts to inject religion, control administrative and athletic costs, and decide where future schools are built. It is an often thankless task, but we must have citizens who care enough to perform this valuable service.

Fayetteville has only one seat up for election this year, the Zone 4 position currently held by Chris Bell who has said she does not plan to seek re-election. It is important that the seat be filled with a committed progressive citizen who will stand fast for the highest educational standards to benefit our students instead of administrative formulas or convenience. Give it some serious thought, then become a candidate or recruit someone who shares your views.

Elections also will be held for the following school board seats in Washington County: Greenland School Board, the Zone 2 seat held by Board President Bill Groom and the Zone 7 position currently held by Charles Dwyer; Prairie Grove School Board, at-large positions currently held by William Dick and Eric; Elkins School Board, two at-large positions, currently held by Joey Smith and Krystal Gano. Additional at-large positions and current members include ; Sally Zelenka, Farmington; Connie Meyer, Lincoln; Karen Daugherity, West Fork; Mike Luttrell, Zone 4, Springdale

The seats up for election in Benton County and their current board members are as follows: Bentonville Position 1 Marshall Ney; Bentonville Position 2 Bruce Painter; Decatur Zone 4 Bryan Wilkins; Decatur Zone 2 Donald Morgan Jr.; Gentry Zone 2 Dani Cypert; Gentry Zone 3 Brenda Willett; Gentry at-large 7 Merrill G. Reynolds; Gravette Position 1 Jim Hendren; Gravette Position 2 Jack Skillett; Siloam Zone 4 Brian Lamb; Rogers Zone 1 Joye Kelley; Pea Ridge Position 2 Rick H. Webb

No comments:

Post a Comment